Stuffed Peppers

This is the year I finally got bell peppers to grow in the garden! They may be small compared to what you buy at the store, but they are full of flavor. Here’s a look at the final menu:

File_002 (4)

I found a recipe on Allrecipes.com, but tweaked it with what I had at hand. The peppers are stuffed with white rice, turkey burger, and Mexican corn.

File_007 (4)

To 1/2 cup white rice, add 1 cup water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to simmering and allow the rice to cook for ~20 min (or until done). During this time, brown 1 lb of turkey burger using a skillet.

Slice the tops of the peppers off and remove the seeds and insides. Because the bottoms of the peppers were not flat, I also sliced the bottoms so that they would stand upright.

Once the turkey burger was cooked, I added the boiled rice, 1 can of tomato sauce, 1 can of Mexican corn, 1 Tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, garlic and onion powder, and salt and pepper to taste.

Stir well to mix and add the mixture inside the peppers. I had way too much mixture because I did not have enough bell peppers, so we ended up eating the mixture inside tortilla shells as well. I had some leftover cherry tomatoes and I sliced up the tops from the peppers and added that to the mixture for the tortillas.

I covered the dish with foil and baked at 350F for 30-45 min or until the peppers were soft and cooked through. The recipe says an hour, but I think by covering with foil this speeds up the cooking time.

I topped with some shredded cheddar cheese. As another pepper dish, I made stuffed Jalepeno poppers (see my previous post here: Jalapeno Poppers). I apologize for the missing photos in that post, I did some spring cleaning on my computer and need to re-add the photos when I have some time.

Simply delicious!

Online Recipe

Stuffed Peppers Recipe

Leave a Reply

