Sage-Infused Recipes

It has been a long time since my last blog post. For one, I’ve been really busy with house projects and traveling so I haven’t had the time. But, the good news is now that I’m back I have plenty to blog about!

I recently (probably a month or so ago now) replanted our herb gardens that hang on the deck and decided to add sage to my plant list this year. I do not know a whole lot about sage other than you usually use it in pork sausage, but I figured that I would be able to find some recipes online.

There are several types of sage and you can find plenty of information about each online. Some websites that I browsed through are included at the end of the post. The variety that I have is doing incredibly well in the hanging herb garden. So well in fact that it’s taking over!

File_002

When I searched for sage recipes there were several with butternut squash and with pork. I thought to myself, why not try out both?!

I have never cooked with butternut squash before so this was a new experience for me. I found several recipes online and decided on a couple from allrecipes.com. Because the butternut squash takes a while to cook, I started baking the squash and preparing the pork chops in between the baking and squash smashing step.

Butternut Squash Ravioli

Preparing and baking the squash ended up being a lot easier than I had originally thought it would.  First, I peeled the skin from the squash and cut it lengthwise. Then, I scooped out the seeds and innards from the inside of the squash. Next, place 1 Tablespoon of butter to each hollowed out portion. Sprinkle both halves with salt and pepper.Place each half cut-side up in a pan and cover with foil. Bake for one hour at 450F.

Once softened (should be easily pierced with a fork), scoop out cooked squash and mash in a bowl.

In a separate small bowl mix together 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese. Add this spice mixture to the mashed squash and mix well.

Now onto the fun part! Preparing the raviolis! To make clean-up easier, I laid out who to  wrappers on a sheet of parchment paper. Side note: wonton wrappers can be found at any grocery store near the produce section where the pre-made salads are stored in the refrigerated area. Brush each side with egg white. I added about a tablespoon worth of the squash mixture to the center of the wrapper. Lay another wrapper on top and fold down to make the ravioli. The egg white helps to keep the wrappers sticking together.

Add prepared raviolis to boiling water and boil for 5-8 min depending upon how many you add at a time. I did two batches and had to cook for closer to 8 min. While the raviolis were boiling, I prepared the butter-sage sauce. I used my handy-dandy spice scissors and cut ~ 1/4 cup worth of fresh sage and added that to 1/4 cup butter and browned for a few minutes.

Once finished, I added the butter-sage sauce and some extra Parmesan cheese to the tops of the raviolis. Yum!

Sage Pork Chops

As I mentioned earlier in the post, I also prepared pork chops with the ravioli. Since the butternut squash takes about an hour to bake, I prepared the pork chops during that time and let it simmer for ~ 45 min in the broth.

First, you rub seasoning onto both sides of the pork chops. Mix together 2 teaspoons salt, 1 teaspoon black pepper, and 1 teaspoon fresh sage in a small bowl. I don’t have dry sage and the fresh sage is much tastier. Rub generously on both sides of the pork chops.

Melt 2 Tablespoons butter in a saucepan (I have a cast iron skillet that I like to use for cooking meat) and brown each side for about 5 min. Once browned, add 1 cup of beef bouillon (I did 1 cup + 2 packs of bouillon for extra flavor) and cover the pan. Simmer for ~45 min. You can see in the photos that I had two thick chops. If you were to have thinner pork chops, you do not need to simmer for as long or else the meat will be really dry.

This part of the meal was really easy to prepare, whereas making the raviolis took more time. Both were absolutely delicious!

File_000

Websites:

Four Types of Sage

Varieties of Sage

Six Types of Sage

Sage Pork Chops Recipe

Butternut Squash Recipe

Leave a Reply

