Easy Crockpot Barbeque Chicken

Since I am waiting for the gardens to start producing (and they are growing fast!), I have been trying out new recipes. Particularly, recipes with chicken. I have yet to find a crockpot recipe with chicken as the main dish, that isn’t soup, that I like. I did not have high hopes, but I found a barbeque chicken recipe on allrecipes.com that I decided to try.

The recipe is simple enough. Add chicken to the crockpot, mix together the barbeque sauce, pour on top and cook for a few hours. See the original recipe at the end of the blogpost. Of course, as with all recipes, I modified the ingredients list.

 

File_003

Most of the ingredients I used are in the photo above. To modify, I added garlic powder, minced onions, liquid smoke, and JGM’s mix – none of which is included in the recipe.

I added 2 packages of chicken tenderloins, which ended up being a little less than 2 pounds total chicken. To make the barbeque sauce add together 12 oz barbeque sauce, 1/2 cup Italian dressing, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 Tablespoon liquid smoke, 1 teaspoon minced onions, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1/2 Tablespoon JGM mix. The amounts of the last items (liquid smoke onward) are estimates since I do not remember exactly how much got added. Mix all the ingredients together and add on top of the chicken. Coat well and cover the crockpot. Cook for 3 hours on high.

 

 

After cooking for three hours on high, I removed the chicken from the sauce and shredded the chicken. After shredding, I placed the chicken back into the sauce and mixed well. We made barbeque chicken sandwiches for dinner and I must say they were a hit!

File_004

 

I think that there are two key points to mention that made this recipe a success. The first is adding liquid smoke – it gives just the right amount of flavor to the chicken. Secondly, when cooking the chicken in a crockpot I recommend cooking on the lower end of the time (3 hours on high instead of 4). This ensures that the chicken does not dry out. Enjoy!

Online Recipe:  Crockpot Barbeque Chicken

 

 

Leave a Reply

