It’s Spring Time!

And we all know that spring time means garden time! The weather has been wonderful lately with the forecast being sunny and mid-upper 70s. I cannot believe how quickly Spring is coming. I hope that I haven’t jinxed it by announcing this to the world.

For the past couple of weekends I spent a few hours amending the soil in our backyard gardens. To do this, I raked up all the pine needles, leaves, etc. from the top of the soil. I actually think that this coverage helped keep the soil in pretty decent condition. After raking off the top coat, I added more peat moss, black kow, and garden soil to each of the beds. Soil tends to compact over the growing season so additional soil had to be added to each of the beds. Since we also had the compost barrel working its magic all winter, I was able to add some really nice compost to the beds as well! The compost looked really nice and I was able to add enough compost to all of the gardens in the back yard.

The photos above show what the gardens looked like before (left) and after (right) once the extra soil and compost (middle) had been added.

 

Since I got the gardens ready pretty early in the season I decided to start cool-weather crops from seed. I planted potatoes, onions, carrots, spinach, lettuce, beans and peas, broccoli, and Brussels sprouts. We had some leftover red potatoes that were kept in the fridge and I decided to see if we could get those to grow in the garden. I dug two rows about 12-16 inches apart and buried three potatoes in each row. Excess soil was kept on both sides to cover the potatoes in raised rows (https://greenthumbilina.wordpress.com/2014/11/30/growing-potatoes/). The potatoes might be a stretch, but we will see how they grow!

All of the other veggies were sown with seeds as described on their packages.

You can see in the photos above that after planting the seeds they were labeled with a plastic stake so that I know where each vegetable is located once they sprout. I also laid down the watering hoses around the seeds so that when the rain is lacking I can set the watering on a timer. For the most part, I sowed multiple seeds per hole to ensure at least one or two would sprout.

My little helper (below) was pretty exhausted after this morning of gardening!

File_001 (27)

After about 8-10 days, several of the seeds had started sprouting! By the time I wrote this blog post it had been almost three weeks since the first seed was planted and I have to say that the garden is doing quite well!

Above, you can see the peas, beans, and spinach plants have sprouted. Additional ones that look really good include the Brussels sprouts, carrots, and onions. Crossing my fingers (and toes) that the spinach will make it this year (https://greenthumbilina.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/a-fall-garden-the-greens/)!

Spring can be a deceiving season. The weather in the beginning of March, when I planted everything, was sunny and warm with temperatures hovering in the mid 70s. This past weekend, however, the weather has been damp and gray and in the 50s. I worry about the temperature dropping low (around or below freezing) so I decided to set up the garden hoops so that a cover can be placed on top if need be. Additionally, the peas need trellis support already so I set up a few stakes for those plants (above; https://greenthumbilina.wordpress.com/2014/08/24/peas-and-harmony-on-a-trellis/).

File_000 (63)

And I’ll leave you with one more photograph of my little helper, Deacon. We are hopeful that our early Spring garden will do well this year.

Leave a Reply

