Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

Now that I’ve broken out the crockpot, I have been wanting to make more recipes using it. Nate and I went out to dinner the other week and he had a delicious chicken tortilla soup as an appetizer. So, I thought, surely there is a good crockpot recipe out there for this soup! And, Allrecipes.com did not disappoint. This is the perfect soup if you are looking for something hearty with a little bit of a kick to it.

Ingredients include: cooked full chicken, yellow onion, 1 can whole peeled tomatoes, 1 can enchilada sauce, 1 can green chili peppers, garlic, 2 cups water (although I put in less), 1 can chicken broth, 10 oz frozen corn, and the following spices: chili powder, salt, pepper, a bay leaf, fresh cilantro, and I added garlic powder and onion powder. I did not add the cumin since I am not a huge fan of that particular spice. The soup is topped with baked tortilla shells.

The night before, I shredded a fully cooked chicken from Harris Teeter and chopped an onion. This saved me time in the morning since I like to cook the meal during the work day. The next morning, I smashed a can of whole peeled tomatoes using a mashed potato smasher (technical term!) and added the chicken, chopped onion, green chilis, garlic and enchilada sauce. Over this, I poured the chicken broth and water and then seasoned with the seasonings listed above. Lastly, the frozen corn and bay leaf were added. Everything was stirred and mixed.

After fully mixing the soup, I turned the crockpot on low and cooked the soup for at least 8 hours on low heat.

When I returned home after work the house smelled amazing! The final touch for this soup is to add strips of baked tortilla on top. To do this, preheat the oven to 400F. Lightly brush both sides of corn tortillas with a little bit of vegetable oil. Cut into strips and bake for about 10 min or until the strips start to crisp.

Yummy! I apologize for not having an official after picture, but believe me that it also looked good in addition to tasting good. Enjoy!

Online Recipe

Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe

Leave a Reply

