Fancy Mushroom Pasta

I have recently gotten sucked into the world of Pinterest, which (I think) is mostly a good thing. There are so many different pins out there for anything you could ever imagine. So far, my boards consist of gardening, cooking, and DIY home improvement projects (more on those in my next blog posts). Since I haven’t posted in a while, I decided to try out one of the recipes that I had found on Pinterest and share how to make this delicious meal. Of course, I modified the original recipe. Want a quick 20-minute pasta dish? Look no further as this is a fast and easy recipe to make a nice pasta dish for dinner.

First up, the obligatory ingredients photograph. I forgot to include garlic, salt and pepper, and goat cheese in this photo but those ingredients were also used. I diced half of a yellow onion, minced 3 cloves of garlic, chopped 2 packages of mushrooms (a shitake blend and a white mushroom), and sliced half a container of grape tomatoes in half using a new method Cissy (my mother-in-law) and I found on Facebook. Gotta love new (and easy!) techniques.

File_000 (4)To slice grape tomatoes in half, place an appropriately sized plate and fill with tomatoes. Then, place a flat plate on top and firmly hold in place. Using a sharp knife (it must be sharp, this won’t work with a dull knife) simply slice through the tomatoes while continuing to hold down the top plate. And, voila! You’ve saved time by slicing all of the tomatoes at once! Of course, if you’re like me the first time I did this we were so surprised that it worked that we celebrated and probably took more time celebrating than the time saved.

Above photo courtesy of Cissy Byrd from Thanksgiving. Aunt Mary Bridges is helping to hold the plate down.

The recipe calls for bow-tie pasta, but I didn’t have that readily available so I decided to make linguine. Follow the instructions on the box. I always add a pinch of salt and a splash of olive oil when I make pasta. The photo below is after I’ve drained the water, but while the pasta was boiling I made the mushroom/onion/spinach sauce.

File_000

Melt 2 Tablespoons of butter and a splash of olive oil in a pan. I used a regular pan, but I highly recommend using a larger pan because you mix everything together in the end and with an entire box of pasta and the amount of sauce…trust me. You’ll want a bigger pan. Once heated, add onion and mushrooms and cook for 5-8 min on medium heat or until the onions are fragrant and cooked through.

File_000 (3)

Next, add minced garlic and a splash of white wine (I used some Chardonnay we had in the fridge). The mixture will sizzle a little bit. Add 1/2 cup of whipping cream and some salt. Heat through and turn off the burner.

At this point, the linguine had finished boiling and was ready to have the sauce added to it. I added the onion/mushroom sauce and a cup of chicken broth and stirred well to mix. The addition of the chicken broth helps make the sauce, well saucier. It is certainly not necessary it you prefer a less liquid sauce.

File_001

Once stirred together, add the spinach, tomatoes, and parmesan cheese (we didn’t have very much maybe 2 Tablespoons worth) and mix well. This is the point where I switched to a larger pot because there was no way all of this saucy goodness was going to fit in the pot.

And last, but certainly not least spoon onto a plate and top with fresh cracked pepper, salt, and chunks of goat cheese. Oh my gosh. This meal was absolutely delicious. Enjoy!

File_003

Online Recipe:

http://pinchofyum.com/date-night-mushroom-pasta-with-goat-cheese

One thought on “Fancy Mushroom Pasta

Leave a Reply

