Hambone Soup for the Hungry Soul

I made ham for New Year’s Day dinner and we had so much leftover and we kept the hambone to prepare hambone soup. Nate found a recipe online (the original recipe can be found at the end of this blog post) that I sort of followed. Well, I followed the basic recipe. First, I placed the hambone, that still had plenty of ham attached, in a stockpot. I added ~4 cups of chicken broth, not water, and brought the broth to a boil. I then simmered for about an hour to an hour and a half.

20150104_163751Once simmered, I took the hambone out and chopped off the excess ham then tossed the bone. Dad got us the most amazing knife set for Christmas and I broke it out for this recipe. I diced the ham and cut several additional slices of ham for the soup. All sliced and diced on our new bamboo cutting board!

20150104_164509Using the vidalia onion chopper, I diced up a whole large yellow onion. I also peeled and sliced three carrots. Using our new garlic mincer, courtesy of Nate’s Mom, I minced 3-4 cloves of garlice. I heated about a Tablespoon of olive oil in a saucepan and added the onions, carrots, and garlic. I then added about half a container of mushrooms and sauteed until the onions were soft.

20150104_16493920150104_16595020150104_170953To the ham/chicken broth stock, I added the diced ham and sauteed veggies (onions, carrots, mushrooms). I chopped up 6 medium-sized red potatoes and added that to the pot as well.

20150104_170520With all the ingredients in the stockpot, I then seasoned with salt and pepper and my Dad’s JGM Mix. I also had fresh thyme from the herb garden that I chopped and added. Three cans of corn and two cans of white kidney beans were also added. I heated the soup to boiling and then simmered for another 30 min or so until the potatoes softened.

20150104_171454Nate and I both LOVED this recipe. Such a hearty meal and great on a rainy Sunday. I prepared some biscuits and we both had a couple bowls of soup for dinner! Yum!

20150104_180446

Online Recipe:

http://damndelicious.net/2013/12/25/leftover-hambone-soup/

2 thoughts on “Hambone Soup for the Hungry Soul

Leave a Reply

